The Nas Demo Tape

This is supposedly the demo tape of the MC who has never, ever had a bad fade in his life. If someone could please authenticate, I would appreciate it. And if you don’t have his remixes and rarities, go here. Thanks HHF for the find!

Nas – Demo Tape circa 1989 or 1991?


01 Understanding
02 Life is like a dice game
03 Just another day in the projects
04 Deja Vu
05 Back to the grill again
06 Everything is real
07 I’m a villain
08 Number one with a bullet (featuring_kool_g._rap_and_whiteboy)
09 Nas will prevail

This entry was posted by on Monday, March 31st, 2008 at 10:34 am and is filed under hip-hop. Both comments and pings are currently closed. Tags: /

8 Responses to “The Nas Demo Tape”

  1. Nonchalant Misfit on March 31st, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    password for this is: flyhigh

  2. DJ Franchise a/k/a Del Flaco on March 31st, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    good looking out, nm!

  3. Sjoerd on June 27th, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    It could be the real demo tape. Anyhow, if it was released it was in 1992. Because the song ‘Back To The Grill Again’ is on an album from Mc Serch from 1992. You can hear songs from the demo tape on Youtube.

  4. Bluntly Fonsworth on October 10th, 2009 at 2:42 am

    This is the demo plus some early unreleased material. The demo was made in 1991. back to the grill again was not part of it, as MC Serch discovered Nasty Nas through the tape. Also, Life is Like A Dice Game could not have been part of the demo since he mentions his daughter Destiny who was born in 1994. So, that song is just an unreleased song from either summer ’94 or sometime early in 1995.

  5. DJ Franchise a/k/a Stringer Fell on October 13th, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    @ bluntly – i forgot about this post. and you make 2 very good points. keep schooling the 85ers out there!

  6. drugczar on August 5th, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    bluntly fansworth is mad homo he said “to my seed” dumb ass, that could just mean in the future you dickhead lmao…

  7. Sjoerd on November 7th, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    This was not the original demo. the songs are NOT from the same year. Life Is Like A Dice Game and Understanding are post-illmatic, most likely recorded in 1994 (in Life Is Like.. Nas raps about his baby daughter Destiny, who was born in 1994). Deja Vu is from 1995, recorded a few months before Nas redid his verse on the Raekwon album. Go look it up, it is confirmed Deja Vu is from 1995. the rest of the songs are pre-illmatic and range from 91-92

  8. Moses on December 18th, 2010 at 11:03 am

    Oh SNAP!!! drugczar got SCHOOLED!!! Wheres your reply? Oh, your too homo to admit you were wrong.